2017 Fuller Award Winner

Walter Ivy, WV Bureau for Public Health
Office of Environmental Health Services (OEHS)

Congratulations to Walter Ivy, OEHS Director, for receiving the 2017 George Warren Fuller Award at the annual conference!

george warren fuller award

This award commemorates the sound engineering skills, brilliant diplomatic talent and leadership ability which characterized the life of its namesake. It is given annually in recognition of outstanding leadership or significant contributions to the advancement of the water works practice within the association or section.

Each year’s honoree is chosen by previous award recipients. A formal award presentation will be made at AWWA’s Annual Conference and Exposition (ACE). Honorees are also recognized at their local sections’ annual conferences so that each recipient can celebrate with his or her industry colleagues.


Past Winners

2016 Perkins-Boynton Award Winners

Small System (<3,300 population)  – Jeff Pippet
Large System (>3,300 population) – Sam Anderson

Congratulations to Jeff Pippet of Jefferson Utilities, Inc. and Sam Anderson of Beckley Water Company for being named the 2016 winners!

perkins-boynton award

The award is presented in two categories: to an operator of a plant serving less than 1,000 customers, and to the operator of a plant serving more than 1,000 customers. These awards are given to active licensed plant operators who have demonstrated exemplary ability in the operation of a water plant. Recipients must have demonstrated exceptional responsibility and the desire to increase their knowledge of water treatment.

Perkins-Boynton Award 2018 – Call for Nominations:

Nominations from WVAWWA members are sought for the 2018 Perkins Boynton Awards to be presented at the annual conference.  The awards are given in the name of West Virginia’s first certified public water supply operator.  To be eligible, nominees must have 5 or more years of experience as a certified operator at a WV drinking water treatment plant which utilizes coagulation, settling, and filtration.  There are two awards given each year based upon population served (small systems of less than 3,300 persons and large systems of greater than or equal to 3,300 persons).  Please present nominations and any supporting documents or questions to Seth Myers (email: or phone: 304-368-2530) no later than January 1, 2018.


2016 taste test

1st Place – Morgantown Utility Board

2nd Place – WV American Water – Weston

2016 meter madness

1st Place  –  Scott Mays, Beckley Water Company

2nd Place  –  David Humphreys, Beckley Water Company

sign up for our newsletter!

get info on events and conferences